Heracles

Call back the dragon.
Swear to me you meant it.

Put me on a vase;
put the vase on a shelf;
just make us
a freaking legacy already. 
I need proof

that I’m not a figment,
kid in a lion’s cape
trying to convince himself to stop screaming.

I swung my soul like a jump-rope through your door
and you said stay.
I called myself catapult
and you said shut up, you said edges
around here are always rough

and I don’t
I don’t
I don’t know how to stop saying your name

I don’t know how to get out of the way of a hurricane
and I’ve been fighting long enough to make anyone bored with me—

so please breathe fire into this place again.
Say it isn’t over yet.

Leave a Reply

