How to Terrorize Your Pieces of Mind

When learning a new language, it is imperative that you repeat the words out loud while associating the proper meaning with each one in order to convince each syllable to conform into your clumsy pronunciations. Saying the word’s translation is also recommended and effective, particularly when it isn’t an expected equivalency.

For example, when studying personality traits, I was confronted with the task of reminding myself that even though simpático looks a little like sympathetic, it means friendly, simpático, simpático, simpático…

For example, when learning the names of classroom supplies, it required repetition to remember that cartel means poster, cartel, poster, cartel, poster, cartel, poster.

For example, when reading the text message that said, “I don’t know what I’d do without you,” I almost forgot meanings for a moment and had to say, out loud, “He is going to leave, he is going to leave, he is going to leave.”

Establishing a rhythm is key. He is going to leave; here is my modern-day revelation of the remains of every single sonnet, but you can’t remove the iambic pentameter without it losing some of its character. Whenever you translate, something is lost.

He is going
to leave,
etching into each inch of asphalt on the street,
here is my prediction,
here is my storm warning,
here is my silence,
here is my forecast,
here is my rhythm,
here is my rhythm,
here are the remains.

Every language has a finite number of words. Thus, these words have a finite number of possible combinations, and so, there’s a high probability that any thought you have has been had
before.
I am only rewriting
someone else’s poem.

Get in line.

There are ghosts ahead of you.

Get in line.

And holograms behind you.

Get in line.
If you knew how temporary–
He is going to leave–
if you knew how many–
Get in line–
You are stuck–
Get in line–
Either that or leave
smash the theme
see, the thing is, I don’t think
about how to change a sentence anymore,
I have mastered the act of being bilingual,
I have mastered the fact of replies that twist translation to their inclinations of brushing it all aside.
I have tried to make myself not lie, so that’s why at times I do not send a misrepresentative emoticon
during the seconds when I’m not smiling, get in line.
A magnitude of holograms behind you get in line each pressing for their next step forward to move toward
reality get in line and an army
of ghosts that tread before you get in line you’re a reverberation of footsteps get in line unoriginal get in
line.

I know how quickly skin cells die.

But still every time
I hold your hand I can’t forget get in line about how much can fit get in line into the space between our palms get in line
it’s surprisingly easy, how fluent a person can get
simply from constant exposure to the arrangements of the letters in a language get in line there’s a conjugation
for any verb,
I leave you leave he leaves she leaves disconnected from the aching trees that never asked them to be parts of the stems, that never wanted any memories;

So many things have to die inside a fractured minute
and I was going to tell you today that this is now the longest relationship I’ve been in
but every accent is set against action,
and every syllable trained that silence is the only shield
so it’s a habit to grab at the nearest subject matter I can find.
Get in line.
I decided a long time ago to assume this identity
but I can’t forgive the part of me
that was first addicted to the sound of worry.

4 thoughts on “How to Terrorize Your Pieces of Mind”

Leave a Reply

