Bookmarks

So I had this idea. I wrote a poem (nothing new there) and I’m thinking about dividing it and putting each part on a different index card…

And leaving them in books at the library.

Please tell me I’m just quirky, not crazy.

I’ll leave the poem below; slashes are where I’m thinking of dividing it.

Please supply feedback. I don’t want to sound desperate but, well, I’m desperate: I need to know that there are other people who think it’s cool when they find someone’s bookmark that was accidentally left in a book, other people who would be surprised and excited to find part of a poem in their book.

Also, if you think this is a good idea, then I have two questions:
1) Should I write somewhere on each card where they can find the next one? Or just leave it separate, doomed to remain that way?
2) What are some of your favorite books? If I do this, I’ll be sure to leave a card in those books.



And sometimes you leave a note in a library book and wonder who’ll find it./
And sometimes you wonder if they’ll wonder who wrote it./
And sometimes you wonder if they’ll check every book around this one to find the others./
If someone else had already found part/
If these two cardholders will find each other/
If you’ve started a movie/
And sometimes you just want to check every book that holds an index card to see if it’s still there/
And sometimes you wonder if someone will leave their card in another book./
If it’s continuous./
Or if this will end up in the trash./
Or the recycling bin./

So this is a poem,/
it seems, and/
each line will be pried from the others,/
leaves from a branch,/
petals,/
windbroken and fallen,/
uncrushed. And sometimes you
wonder if there’s enough tape to keep this together. Piece this together./
And sometimes you wonder if they’ll care about this card. If they’ll wonder who you are./
If they think about how they might have seen your face a thousand times./
If they look./
And sometimes you don’t want this to be the last card./
But now it is./


19 thoughts on “Bookmarks”

  1. I’ve heard of things like this before. I’ve always wanted to be one of the people who finds something like that, but I never have been haha…but I love the idea! It’s always exciting finding something unexpected. I used to put messages in bottles and leave them in the dunes on the beach (where the water wouldn’t drag them away) and come back later and see if anyone found them.

    1. Unexpected happy things seem to make it feel like life is full of more possibilities than I’ve ever realized and anything wonderful could be coming… I’m a dreamer. Leaving the bottles on dunes was a great idea! Did you ever know if people found them?

      1. Well, they were gone…but since I didn’t check until the next day there was no way of knowing if it was the people who clean up the beach or random people passing who saw there was something inside, but either way they were gone!

      1. I’ve always wanted to find something like that, intentionally placed there. To know that someone is wondering who found it… Hopefully, whoever finds these will have wanted to find a piece of a poem, too

  2. What a great idea! We go to the library and search through the stacks in the hope of finding a new story, a new adventure. Then to find an added surprise of a piece of a poem . . . That would drive me back to search for the other pieces. It would be like a fun mystery to solve. Go for it. After all, what would you have to lose? I would write the link to your blog so that finders can “register” that they found a piece of your poem also. Have fun and let us know how it goes.

    1. That’s a great idea! I will do that. I love what you said about searching for an adventure in the library… I definitely do that. And people think I’m not adventurous, pshah… I would definitely be spending hours looking for other pieces if I ever found someone else’s note. Glad I’m not the only one!

  3. This is AMAZING! I love the idea and the poem. It seems to me like you ma want to have more than one line on a card. Also, maybe number them? Some book’s I’d suggest are The Fault in our Stars, An Abundance of Katherines, Paper Towns (all by John Green), as well as Watership Down, and the Clockwork series by Cassandra Clare. Perhaps do someting like leave the dewey decimal codes for the book where the Next card is? You’d probably want to put the code for the first book on the last card.

    1. I was already thinking to number them, and Dewey decimal numbers is a great idea. It would take a conscious effort on the finder’s part, since I don’t know many people who have learned that, what with electronic card catalogues and such now… More than one line on each card is probably a good idea, too; I just wanted to make as much as possible from it, but thinking about it now, I would probably get frustrated if I was the one looking for them and there was over a dozen

  4. I love this idea! I might though, (cause you asked) leave bigger chunks of a poem in each book, and use one of your heartbreakers. I might also, ( with no malice intended, but come-on there’s thousands of books) actually write in the books, like opposite the preface, and leave books and page #’s to the earlier part and the next part of the poem. (I always list the typos I find in books somewhere in the front.). I just think this is so great, I love this idea! You’re my hero!…. πŸ™‚

    1. Bigger parts of the poem it is, then. This is why I ask for yall’s feedback- you notice things I wouldn’t think of; thank you for that! I was considering writing the title of the next book, so I will definitely do that now, too.
      Listing typos in the front- why have I never thought to do that? Typos drive me absolutely crazy.
      I’m glad you like this idea! I don’t think I’ve been anyone’s hero before, I’m flattered 😊
      What did you mean by one of my heartbreakers?

Leave a Reply

