One of a Thousand Ironies

The daily prompt for the day it ended
was about something unexpected
Show us: LOSS

The poem I posted
the day before it ended,
when I thought that the worries were irrational–

before he told me
unexpectedly
that basically
if you removed his lies from the fabric
I thought we’d crafted
there would be nothing left
to hold it together
“I don’t want to be leading you on.”

The daily prompt
for the day we broke up
was show us unexpected loss

I never would’ve guessed that morning

And when he held my hand tightly
I didn’t know it was because
it would be the last time

“Do you need a hug?”
NO, I DO NOT NEED A HUG FROM YOU

I’ve promised myself that this will be the only breakup poem.

I will uproot my muse
and plant it in the sunlight.

One thought on “One of a Thousand Ironies”

Leave a Reply

