why I love eavesdropping

(The Daily Prompt was technically supposed to be about a conversation you overheard that you wish you hadn’t… But I have too many of those. So instead, here’s one that I’m glad I did.)


Leaving the lounge– headed
to my room, and I see
them standing near the doorway, move
to step around, instinctively,
not quite to them yet
They don’t notice

“So, um, speaking of which, can I ask you to the dance?”

“Sure”

“Awesome.”

And I walk a little bit faster,
giddily, moving to
unlock the door
with the key that’s hanging
on the green lanyard, hands
already poised for the pencil, going
to the same-color-green notebook,
to write their exact words

8 thoughts on “why I love eavesdropping”

  1. WHOA WHOA WHOA WHOA
    YOU ACTUALLY HEARD THEM?
    MAIBELLINE AND PSEUDONYMOUSWRITES?????
    EEEP
    I WAS NOT AWARE OF THIS

Leave a Reply

