There was a red leaf on the ground

There was a red leaf on the ground
and it’s barely even September
it could not discover the energy to cling
to a tree any longer.
It made me think of you
I don’t know why.
Everything makes me think of you
these days.
I do not want to see leaves on the dirt
because once things fall apart,
it is autumn
which means I’ve been here throughout
an entire season
and part of me does not want
to have done that.
The pebbles are now small enough to be
blown away, if the wind
tries hard enough
they are lodged in their clay, however,
and the world looks red from here
Just a few more weeks
until the grass is dead
and I think all unrequited
will be harder in the winter.
It won’t snow,
I’ve decided
if ever it was going to, the chance
was lost
in May.

Leave a Reply

