Wonder and Awe

“Your love is just dopamine
and other chemicals reacting
in your brain to create
a sense of wonder and awe.”

You said this before you knew
of the crazy way I felt towards you
but my thoughts were not stopped
I was still in awe.

My mind said, “If it’s dopamine
and only this that makes it seem
so great here, then I fear
illusions grant me awe.”

And the way that you implied
it wasn’t real, just a nice
pleasant rush to simply hush
the emptiness with awe-

It hurt, yes. I’ll also say
your reply was no better the day
that I wrote and then spoke
having somewhat lost the awe

After I confessed, “I like you,”
your, “oh.. really?” made sure I knew
cause was lost; I’ve paid the cost
recovery, lacking awe

There’s another I walk with now
There’s a someone you smile at- how
did we get to this pit
on our own? It’s a wonder

When I see you walk to her
I can’t forget all we never were
As you grin, I think again
of one thing I still wonder

What would you think if I said
your feelings come only from your head
that they aren’t true, and that you
are foolish to feel such wonder,

If I told you that all you believe
to be love is really just dopamine?
only a rush, and you are crushed
forever left to wonder

But that is not what I’ll say
I’ll hide the bitterness away
that’s not me; can’t you see
no longer a need to wonder

Your love is more than dopamine
and other chemicals reacting
in your brain to create
a sense of awe and wonder.

Leave a Reply

