I don’t post all my poems

The reasons why vary.
For some, they’re too personal
Far too emotional
and thinking that others might read them-
it’s scary!

of course, there are others
including names of people
I don’t want to speak of
without their consent

and then there’s the thousand
meant for only one
sets of eyes would defile
my unread words
which wait patiently for my courage

some just sit in notebook corners until
I get around to it and still
there are more that I’ve shown
to people in person
and I’d be found out
if they happened to search them

I don’t post all my poems
But I certainly post a lot
and perhaps it’s better with a little restraint
so I’ll have some left as surprises
when I hopefully finally publish

Leave a Reply

