Reluctance

It’s getting really hard to come up with any more reasons
to hold myself back
and not take a risk
Gosh, world; why do you have to be so encouraging?
You’re making me forget my fear of rejection!
Sheesh! My mind was perfectly made up
that it was hopeless and doomed
and then here you are telling me
“Just text him. Throw caution to the wind.”
So I listened, and it worked
Well, there went that strategy!
And today, even- when I was watching a movie
“To let true love remain unspoken is the quickest route to a heavy heart.”
Then I’m left raising my eyebrows, smiling at the ceiling
Asking God how long he’s going to keep trying to tell me this
Asking myself how long I’m going to resist it

2 thoughts on “Reluctance”

Leave a Reply

